New Modes IV / New Relations with Nature

NEW MODES IV / NEW RELATIONS WITH NATURE, 2024
Foto: BMW Group Design

Events:

Wednesday, 05/15/2024, 19:00

PANEL DISCUSSION WITH ANNA GOLDHOFER, MARTINA MAIER AND JOHANNA SEELEMANN

NEW MODES IV / NEW RELATIONS WITH NATURE

A cooperation of BMW Group Design and Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum

In the 4th event of the New Modes format, we will explore how the relationships between “synthetic” and “organic”, “man-made” and “nature-made”, “technological” and “natural” can be rethought, creating perspectives that allow a different use of our resources, enable new cognitive-sensory experiences of connectedness, and generate a new responsibility towards nature.

PANEL PARTICIPANTS
Anna Goldhofer is an industrial engineer, materials scientist & expert for circular economy. She has been working on the circular economy at BMW for 6 years from various development and purchasing perspectives. She combines her professional career with her desire to contribute to solving the multiple socio-ecological crises. As an inspiring motivator and speaker, Anna passes on her enthusiasm and knowledge for sustainable transformation of the economy to others. 2 years ago, the founding of CRITICAL FRIENDS gGmbH was another important commitment for Anna. CRITICAL FRIENDS gGmbH trains young changemakers and makes companies fit for the future by inspiring young talent.

As an architect, Martina Maier is part of the transdisciplinary, international firm Snøhetta. In her role as Sustainability Specialist at Studio Innsbruck she is responsible for implementing sustainable strategies in architecture and design. Since its foundation, Snøhetta has proven that these disciplines can make a significant contribution in the areas of social and ecological sustainability. The diversity of current challenges is reflected in the office’s multifaceted oeuvre. With sustainable design at various scales, from object design to architecture and urban development, Snøhetta demonstrates the contribution that architecture and design can make to a sustainable future.

Johanna Seelemann leads a design studio that explores material cultures that relate to everyday objects and their contexts, production systems and ecological cycles in order to create desirable future scenarios. The studio takes a multidisciplinary approach, resulting in a wide range of typologies. Since 2020 she has been teaching at the Iceland University of the Arts in Reykjavík. Previously, she supported Studio Formafantasma in the projects Ore Streams and Cambio. For her work Johanna Seelemann was recently nominated by Dezeen Awards as Emerging Designer of the Year 2023.

MODERATION
Ludwig Engel is a futurologist and spatial researcher and member of The Futures Collaborative (Munich I Berlin). His collaborative and post-disciplinary practice ranges from teaching, research and curating to organising workshops, discourse platforms and advising companies and public institutions on the impact of utopias on society.

New Modes IV / New Relations with Nature

NEW MODES IV / NEW RELATIONS WITH NATURE, 2024
Foto: BMW Group Design

Termine:

Mittwoch 15.05.2024, 19:00

PANEL DISKUSSION MIT ANNA GOLDHOFER, MARTINA MAIER UND JOHANNA SEELEMANN

NEW MODES IV / NEW RELATIONS WITH NATURE

Eine Kooperation von BMW Group Design und Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum

In der 4. Veranstaltung des Formats ‚New Modes‘ wird erkundet, wie sich die Beziehungen zwischen “synthetisch” und “organisch”, “menschengemacht” und “naturgemacht”, “technologisch” und “natürlich” neu denken lassen und so Perspektiven entstehen, die einen anderen Umgang mit Ressourcen zulassen, neue kognitiv-sensorische Erfahrungen ermöglichen und eine neue Verantwortung gegenüber der Natur generieren.

PANEL-TEILNEHMER:INNEN
Anna Goldhofer ist studierte Wirtschaftsingenieurin, Materialwissenschaftlerin & Expertin für Circular Economy. Sie arbeitet seit 6 Jahren am Thema Kreislaufwirtschaft der BMW Group aus verschiedenen Entwicklungs- und Einkaufsperspektiven. Ihre berufliche Laufbahn kombiniert sie mit ihrem Wunsch einen Beitrag zur Lösung der multiplen sozio-ökologischen Krisen zu leisten. Als inspirierende Motivatorin und Sprecherin gibt Anna Goldhofer ihre Begeisterung und ihr Wissen für nachhaltige Transformation der Wirtschaft an andere weiter. Die Gründung der CRITICAL FRIENDS gGmbH vor 2 Jahren war ihr ein weiteres wichtiges Anliegen. CRITICAL FRIENDS gGmbH bildet junge Changemaker aus und macht Unternehmen durch Impulse junger Talente zukunftsfähig.

Martina Maier ist als Architektin Teil des transdisziplinären, internationalen Büros Snøhetta und in ihrer Rolle als Sustainability Specialist im Studio Innsbruck mit der Implementierung nachhaltiger Strategien in Architektur und Design betraut. Seit seiner Gründung beweist Snøhetta, dass diese Disziplinen einen wesentlichen Beitrag in den Bereichen der sozialen und ökologischen Nachhaltigkeit leisten können. Die Vielfalt der aktuellen Herausforderungen spiegelt sich im facettenreichen Oeuvre des Büros wider. Mit nachhaltiger Gestaltung auf unterschiedlichen Maßstabsebenen, vom Objekt-Design über Architektur bis zum Städtebau, zeigt Snøhetta, welchen Beitrag Architektur und Design für eine nachhaltige Zukunft leisten können.

Johanna Seelemann leitet ein Designstudio, das materielle Kulturen erforscht, die sich auf alltägliche Objekte und ihre Kontexte, Produktionssysteme und ökologische Zyklen beziehen, um wünschenswerte Zukunftsszenarien zu schaffen. Das Büro verfolgt einen multidisziplinären Ansatz, der zu einem breiten Spektrum an Typologien führt. Seit 2020 unterrichtet sie an der an Iceland University of the Arts in Reykjavík. Zuvor unterstützte sie das Studio Formafantasma bei den Projekten Ore Streams und Cambio. Für ihre Arbeit wurde Johanna Seelemann kürzlich von Dezeen Awards als Emerging Designer of the Year 2023 nominiert.

MODERATION
Ludwig Engel ist Futurologe, Stadtforscher und Mitglied von The Futures Collaborative (München | Berlin). Seine kollaborative und postdisziplinäre Praxis erstreckt sich von der Lehre, Forschung und Kuratierung, bis hin zur Organisation von Workshops, Diskursplattformen und der Beratung von Unternehmen und öffentlichen Institutionen zu den Auswirkungen von Utopien auf die Gesellschaft.