/ 
Permanent Nuremberg

Double up!

Design and art meet, complement each other and double the perspectives
Double up!
Neues Museum Nürnberg

About the Exhibition

The new exhibition on the ground floor continues the partnership between the Neues Museum and the Neue Sammlung. Art and design meet, complement one another, and multiply the ways of looking at a theme: design objects, sculptures, photographs, paintings, ceramics and textiles enter into correspondence and shape new content. This interplay between fine and applied arts reflects a new, non-hierarchic understanding.

After a long time apart, things once kept strictly separate in minds and museums have a great deal to say to one another. The right keywords are all it takes to set the conversation rolling. It might be the colour red, or the shapes of pillars and towers. And the kitchen is known as a good place to get into conversations – in this case a fitted unit designed by Le Corbusier and Charlotte Perriand for a housing project in Marseille. And an encounter between ceramics by Lotte Reimers and indigenous art from Australia provides a striking example of how such interplay comes into being.

Other rooms, with an interactive installation or photographs and design classics, invite visitors to relax, meet and exchange ideas.

In addition, the outreach project Instant Housing Lab is being activated, with the mobile artwork Instant Housing Trailer WBF-170/4 0 0 by Nuremberg artist Winfried Baumann acting as meeting place, workshop, stage and space for performative, participatory and artistic activities.

A joint exhibition by Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum and Neues Museum Nürnberg.

Exhibition designer: Martin Kinzlmaier

Plan a visit

Where?

Barer Straße 40, 80333 Munich

Opening hours:

Daily 10:00 – 18:00

Monday closed

Thursday 10:00 – 20:00

Double up!
Neues Museum Nürnberg

FAQs

Curated by:

Simone Schimpf, Thomas Heyden, Angelika Nollert und Josef Straßer

Current exhibitions

/ 
Dauerhaft Nürnberg

Double up!

Design und Kunst treffen aufeinander, ergänzen sich und verdoppeln die Perspektiven

Über die Ausstellung

Designobjekte, Skulp­turen, Fotografien, Gemälde, Keramiken und Textilien korres­pondieren miteinander und beschreiben neue Inhalte. Jeder Raum bietet ästhetische Bezüge ebenso wie inhaltliche Verknüpfungen. Im Zusammenspiel von freier und ange­wandter Kunst zeigt sich so ein neues, hierar­chiefreies Verständnis.

Was in Museen und Köpfen ursprünglich streng geschieden war, hat sich nach der langen Zeit der Trennung viel zu sagen. Es braucht nur die richtigen Stichworte, um die Dialo­ge anzustoßen. Das kann die Farbe Rot ebenso gut sein wie die Form von Säulen und Türme. Und in der Küche lässt sich be­kanntlich leicht ins Ge­spräch kommen ­ in diesem Falle in einer Küchenzeile von Le Corbusier und Char­lotte Perriand, entwor­fen für eine Marseiller Wohnanlage. Auch Keramik von Lotte Reimers, die auf indigene Kunst Australiens trifft, zeigt ein­drucksvoll, wie Wechselwirkungen entstehen.

Andere Räume mit einer inter­aktiven Installation oder Foto­grafien und Design­klassikern laden die Besu­cher­*in­nen zum Ausruhen, zu Begegnungen und zum Gedankenaustausch ein.

Zudem wird das Instant Housing Lab der Kunstvermittlung ak­tiviert. Das mobile Kunstwerk Instant Housing Trailer WBF-170/4 0 0 des Nürnberger Künstlers Winfried Baumann dient als Treffpunkt, Werkstatt, Bühne und Raum für performatives, partizipatives und künstlerisches Arbeiten.

Eine gemeinsame Ausstellung der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum mit dem Neuen Museum Nürnberg.

Ausstellungs­gestalter: Martin Kinzlmaier

Besuch planen

Wo?

Barer Straße 40, 80333 München

Öffnungszeiten

Täglich 10:00 – 18:00

Montags geschlossen

Donnerstags 10:00 – 20:00

Fragen & Antworten

Kuratiert von:

Simone Schimpf, Thomas Heyden, Angelika Nollert und Josef Straßer

Aktuelle Ausstellungen